Santa Fe (Spanish for holy faith) is our highest (7,199 ft. elevation) and oldest capital (founded in 1610 in Nuevo Mexico).  Before railroads, Santa Fe was a vital travel hub, both for civilians and military.  After the Mexican-American War treaty was signed, the United States acquired what is now considered New Mexico, Arizona, California, Nevada and Utah – in addition to parts of Colorado, Wyoming, Oklahoma, Kansas and Texas. Santa Fe was the gateway to explore the new Southwestern Territory.